THE MATRIX: RESURRECTIONS- Warner Bros. Announces the Official Title for the 4th Entry at CinemaCon!

By: John M Jerva

The title was leaked a while ago just like everything else in the entertainment industry but Warner Bros has officially confirmed that the fourth entry in The Matrix franchise is in fact The Matrix Resurrections! The news came at CinenaCon and fans are reeling as this undoubtedly refers to Neo, played by Keanu Reeves of course, coming back from the hereafter.

Keanu Reeves returns with Carrie Anne-Moss and they are joined by returning cast member Jada Pinkett Smith, who are reprising their roles as Neo, Trinity, and Niobe. Newcomers include Christina Ricci, Priyanka Chopra Jonas, Jessica Henwick, Neil Patrick Harris, Toby Onwumere, and Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, who is said to be playing a younger version of Morpheus.

Along with the title reveal, those in attendance also got to see first look footage from the highly anticipated new installment.

The trailer footage revealed that Reeves’ character Thomas Anderson, his name before he becomes Neo, meets Trinity at a coffee shop and the two do not recognize one another. Reeves is sporting a look similar to his John Wick persona and then the footage shows a young Morpheus handing Anderson a red pill and saying that it is “time to fly.”

Plot details are scarce still but with the title and footage description, it most likely will deal with Anderson bring resurrected and becoming reacquainted with the world of The Matrix.

Expect a trailer to drop at anytime!

The Matrix Resurrections was scheduled for a May 21, 2021 release but has since been delayed to December 22, 2021, due to the ongoing pandemic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.