image_src meta tag
Review: SHOWDOWN IN MANILA Brings the 90's Action Fun Back to the Cinema

Review: SHOWDOWN IN MANILA Brings the 90's Action Fun Back to the Cinema

Thursday, January 25, 2018

John M Jerva

RECENT POSTS

  1. THE ACTION FIX: Task Force Dagger Makes Their Last Charge in the Climatic Scene from 12 STRONG
    17 Jan, 2019
    THE ACTION FIX: Task Force Dagger Makes Their Last Charge in the Climatic Scene from 12 STRONG
    Coming home from vacation the other day, I watched the awesome true life war film 12 STRONG which starred Chris Hemsworth (AVENGERS, THOR) as the leader of a special forces unit that were the first ones in to wage war on Al Qaeda after 9/11. Against incredible odds, these 12 brave men and their Afghanistan counterparts carved their way through a Taliban stronghold to capture a vital city that would cripple the terrorist network. These men went up against thousands of Taliban fighters and tanks
  2. FURIE (HAI PHOUNG): Veronica Ngo Goes On a Rampage to Find Her Daughter in the Newest Trailer!
    17 Jan, 2019
    FURIE (HAI PHOUNG): Veronica Ngo Goes On a Rampage to Find Her Daughter in the Newest Trailer!
    I'm not gonna lie. The Vietnamese action-thriller FURIE (HAI PHOUNG) is right at the top of my must see list for this year as star Veronica Ngo (STAR WARS: THE LAST JEDI, BRIGHT) plays a very dangerous mother who will do anything and take out anybody to save her daughter when her deadly past catches up with her. I included FURIE in Round 7 of my Must See Flix for 2019 and this newest trailer that was released just makes me want to see it even more. Check out the damage Ngo does in the video
  3. JOHN WICK CHAPTER 3-PARABELLUM: Keanu Reeves' Legendary Assassin is Back in the New Trailer!
    17 Jan, 2019
    JOHN WICK CHAPTER 3-PARABELLUM: Keanu Reeves' Legendary Assassin is Back in the New Trailer!
    The day has arrived ladies and gentlemen as Lionsgate has officially given us what we wanted with the release of the first trailer for the hotly anticipated third chapter in the JOHN WICK franchise which sees Keanu Reeves' legendary assassin going to war with the world. Now titled JOHN WICK CHAPTER 3- PARABELLUM, Baba Yaga is in it up to his neck as he must elude the world's greatest assassins as many bodies will fall and many heads will explode. Check it out below!!!! OFFICIAL SYNOPSIS: The
  4. Action Legend Donnie Yen Stars In ICEMAN: THE TIME TRAVELER Coming to Digital Download January 21st!
    17 Jan, 2019
    Action Legend Donnie Yen Stars In ICEMAN: THE TIME TRAVELER Coming to Digital Download January 21st!
    Donnie Yen is back in the anticipated sequel to the 2014 fantasy action film ICEMAN which sees the international star return as a warrior who is frozen in time only to be thawed out in modern China to continue an age old battle. The sequel is ready to hit Digital Download in the UK on January 21st courtesy of Cine Asia UK and we have the official press release for you below. To make it even sweeter, yours truly is quoted in the advertising too! Check it out below! Cine Asia presents Iceman: The
  5. THE PUNISHER: A Showdown is Coming in the New Promo Spot for Season 2!
    17 Jan, 2019
    THE PUNISHER: A Showdown is Coming in the New Promo Spot for Season 2!
    Can you tell that I'm excited for the second season of THE PUNISHER? Well. I have more awesome footage for you with the brand new promo spot that Netflix has released which shows off more of the carnage we are in store for. Check out the showdown that is coming in the video below! OFFICIAL SYNOPSIS: Former marine-turned-vigilante Frank Castle (Jon Bernthal) has been living a quiet life on the road until he suddenly becomes embroiled in the attempted murder of a young girl (Giorgia Whigham). As
  6. THE PUNISHER: The Cast Talks About What to Expect from the Anticipated Second Season
    17 Jan, 2019
    THE PUNISHER: The Cast Talks About What to Expect from the Anticipated Second Season
    We are exactly one day away from the highly anticipated premiere of the second season of THE PUNISHER which will see star Jon Bernthal don the iconic skull once again as he takes on a very angry Billy Russo and more threats. To say that this season will be awesome is probably an understatement and early word has been strongly positive thus far. The cast including Bernthal, Ben Barnes, Amber Rose Revah and Giorgia Whigham recently spoke with the great folks over at JoBlo.com's Arrow In The Head
  7. BLOODSHOT: Vin Diesel Gives Us Our First Look at Ray Garrison from the Upcoming Adaptation
    17 Jan, 2019
    BLOODSHOT: Vin Diesel Gives Us Our First Look at Ray Garrison from the Upcoming Adaptation
    Vin Diesel took to Instagram to give us our first look at his character Ray Garrison from the upcoming film adaptation of the Valiant Comic Book BLOODSHOT. The first official photo shows Diesel in full Army fatigues which is prior to becoming the unstoppable super hero. Take a look below! In addition to the photo, Diesel also stated, "Ray Garrison is a central character in the Valiant Comic Universe... And for me personally, one of the must complex characters I have been fortunate enough to
  8. Keanu Reeves has His Eyes Set on Survival On the New Poster for JOHN WICK CHAPTER 3: PARABELLUM!
    16 Jan, 2019
    Keanu Reeves has His Eyes Set on Survival On the New Poster for JOHN WICK CHAPTER 3: PARABELLUM!
    First we have the brand new poster for the highly anticipated JOHN WICK 3: PARABELLUM which sees Keanu Reeves return as the iconic hit man which you can see below but now we have official confirmation that the first trailer will go live tomorrow! Check out a glaring John Wick in the one sheet below and get ready because heads are gonna explode tomorrow! OFFICIAL SYNOPSIS: “John Wick (Keanu Reeves) is on the run for two reasons… he’s being hunted for a global $14 million dollar open contract on
  9. The SCOTT ADKINS ACTION-THRILLER “SEIZED” GOES INTO PRODUCTION!
    16 Jan, 2019
    The SCOTT ADKINS ACTION-THRILLER “SEIZED” GOES INTO PRODUCTION!
    Scott Adkins and director Isaac Florentine have reunited and it feels so good as the new action-thriller SEIZED is now officially rolling with the cameras. Adkins is having a banner year with the releases of ACCIDENT MAN and THE DEBT COLLECTOR last year and this year we will finally see the long awaited action ensemble film TRIPLE THREAT hit in March. Check out the official press release for the production start of SEIZED below! LOS ANGELES, January 14, 2019 – Premiere Entertainment Group
  10. Peter Parker is In Foreign Territory in the 1st Official Trailer for SPIDER-MAN: FAR FROM HOME
    16 Jan, 2019
    Peter Parker is In Foreign Territory in the 1st Official Trailer for SPIDER-MAN: FAR FROM HOME
    Another highly watched trailer that hit during my vacation was the 1st official spot for MARVEL'S SPIDER-MAN: FAR FROM HOME which sees a resurrected Peter Parker travel across Europe while dealing with some very bad opponents. When last we saw Pete, he dissolved after Thanos' infamous snap in INFINITY WAR so we are assuming he comes back in ENDGAME. Check out the new trailer below! The sequel will find everyone's friendly neighborhood Spider-Man leaving New York and traveling to Europe while
  11. The Bodies Hit the Floor in the Official Trailer for Season 2 of THE PUNISHER!
    16 Jan, 2019
    The Bodies Hit the Floor in the Official Trailer for Season 2 of THE PUNISHER!
    I know this trailer is a little old now but I've been on vacation so what kind of Punisher fan would I be if I didn't post the official trailer for season 2 of THE PUNISHER which sees star Jon Bernthal return in the role of everyone's favorite gun toting vigilante. I'm not gonna harp on the show's possible cancellation anymore but I, instead, am gonna focus on the awesomeness that awaits us in two days when the season finally hits Netflix. I'm sure you've seen it already so watch it again below!